Birka Wallets

When I first got into living history, the Birka wallet from grave bj750 really drew my attention.

I’ve been struggling with mental health through the current pandemic and shut down, so I decided to have a go at making one

It’s worth mentioning that the original was crumpled up to the extent that getting accurate measurements, other than weight, from it is nearly impossible. Even the original reconstruction (above) leans on speculation.

The first method that I tried was the more popular one I’ve seen from the living history community – constructing it inside out, flipping it out through the window on the interior. I tried this method before adding any decoration to see how it looked.

It looks OK in and of itself, but, in my opinion, not a lot like the original. I could flatten it out a bit more, but it would still be pretty thick to an extent that I can’t see a lot of evidence for on either the original or the original reconstruction.

The second attempt I decided to make a lot flatter, which I did by constructing it ‘flat’.

This version was done in a really supple deerskin, which added some thickness to it without making it feel bulky.

I’m still working on getting it to be the best version of what it can be, but I absolutely love making these now! I’d like to get the folded in edges to hide the construction, but without adding bulk to the end result – I will keep experimenting and learning until I work out something that is just right.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close